

# **PRESS RELEASE**

# ESMA appoints two new members to its Management Board

The European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), the EU's securities markets regulator, has reappointed one current member and appointed two new members to its Management Board to replace outgoing members. The appointments took place at the Board of Supervisors meeting on 25 January.

The new members are:

- Thorsten Pötzsch, Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin); and
- Rodrigo Buenaventura, Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores (CNMV).

The member who has been reappointed is:

Magdalena Łapsa-Parczewska, Komisja Nadzoru Finansowego (KNF);

Thorsten Pötzsch's term commenced on 25 January 2022 and will end on 30 September 2024, while both Rodrigo Buenaventura's and Magdalena Łapsa-Parczewska's terms commence on 31 March 2022 and end on 30 September 2024.

The outgoing members are:

- Erik Thedéen, Finansinspektionen (FI), who resigned from the Management Board on
  9 December 2021 on standing for the position of ESMA Vice-Chair; and
- Robert Ophèle, Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF), whose second term as a member of the Management Board will end on 30 March 2022.

The Management Board, chaired by Verena Ross, Chair of ESMA, is responsible for ensuring that the Authority carries out its mission and performs the tasks assigned to it under its founding Regulation. From 31 March 2022, the Management Board will consist of:



- Verena Ross, European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA);
- Vojtech Belling, Česká národní banka (CNB);
- Thorsten Pötzsch, Bundesanstalt für Finanzdiens tleistungsaufsicht (BaFin);
- Derville Rowland, Central Bank of Ireland;
- Vasiliki Lazarakou, Ελληνική Επιτροπή Κεφαλαιαγοράς (HCMC);
- Rodrigo Buenaventura, Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores (CNMV);
- Magdalena Łapsa-Parczewska, Komisja Nadzoru Finansowego (KNF);
- Natasha Cazenave, European Securities and Markets Authority (non-voting); and
- A European Commission representative (non-voting).



### **Notes for editors**

- 1. Further information on the Management Board can be found here.
- 2. The Board of Supervisors is the main decision-taking body of ESMA, consisting of the heads of the 27 national supervisors chaired by Steven Maijoor, ESMA Chair.
- 3. ESMA is the European Union's securities markets regulator. Its mission is to enhance investor protection and promote stable and orderly financial markets.
- 4. It achieves these objectives through four activities:
  - i. assessing risks to investors, markets and financial stability;
  - ii. completing a single rulebook for EU financial markets;
  - iii. promoting supervisory convergence; and
  - iv. directly supervising specific financial entities.
- 5. ESMA achieves its mission within the European System of Financial Supervision (ESFS) through active cooperation with the European Banking Authority (EBA), the European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA), the European Systemic Risk Board, and with national authorities with competencies in securities markets (NCAs).

### Further information:

### **David Cliffe**

Team Leader - Communications Tel: +33 (0)1 58 36 43 24 Mob: +33 (0)6 42 48 29 06 Email: press@esma.europa.eu