

PUBLIC STATEMENT

ESMA appoints new chairs to four Standing Committees

The Board of Supervisors of the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) has appointed the following individuals to serve as chairs of its standing committees:

- Carmine Di Noia, Commissioner of the Commissione Nazionale per le Società e la Borsa (CONSOB), Italy, will chair the Committee for Economic and Markets Analysis;
- Christopher Buttigieg, Director of the Securities and Markets Supervision Unit at the Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA), will chair the Data Standing Committee;
- Martin Moloney, Head of Markets Policy Division at the Central Bank of Ireland
 (CBI) will chair the Investment Management Standing Committee; and
- Merel van Vroonhoven, Chair of the Autoriteit Financiële Markten (AFM),
 Netherlands will chair the Investor Protection and Intermediaries Standing Committee.

The standing committees are expert groups drawn from ESMA staff and the national competent authorities for securities markets regulation in the Member States, and are responsible for the development of policy in their respective areas.

The appointments of the chairs to the Data, Investment Management and Investor Protection and Intermediaries Standing Committee are effective immediately for a period of two years until 30 October 2020. While the new chair of the Committee for Economic and Markets Analysis replaces the previous chair, effective immediately, and will complete the current term which ends on 30 September 2019.



Notes for editors

- Further details of the work of the <u>standing committees</u> can be found on ESMA's website.
- 2. ESMA's mission is to enhance investor protection and promote stable and orderly financial markets.

It achieves these objectives through four activities:

- i. assessing risks to investors, markets and financial stability;
- ii. completing a single rulebook for EU financial markets;
- iii. promoting supervisory convergence; and
- iv. directly supervising specific financial entities.
- 3. ESMA achieves its mission within the European System of Financial Supervision (ESFS) through active cooperation with the European Banking Authority (EBA), the European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA), the European Systemic Risk Board, and with national authorities with competencies in securities markets (NCAs).

Further information:

David Cliffe

Team Leader – Communications Tel: +33 (0)1 58 36 43 24 Email: press@esma.europa.eu