

Guidelines compliance table

ESMA70-156-177
12 January 2021
Last updated: 29 June 2022

Guidelines on the calibration of circuit breakers and publication of trading halts under MiFID II (ESMA70-872942901-63)

The following competent authorities* comply or intend to comply with ESMA Guidelines on 3 January 2018:

Member State		Competent authority	Complies or intends to comply	Comments
BE	Belgium	Financial Services and Markets Authority (FSMA)	Yes	
BG	Bulgaria	Financial Supervision Commission (FSC)	Yes	
CZ	Czech Republic	Czech National Bank (CNB)	Yes	
DK	Denmark	Finanstilsynet	Yes	
DE	Germany	Financial Administration of the City of Hamburg	Yes	
		Ministry of Economics, Energy, Transport and Regional Development, State of Hessen	Yes	
		Ministry of Economic Affairs, Employment, Transport and Digitalisation of Lower Saxony	Yes	
		Ministry of Finance of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia	Yes	



Member State		Competent authority	Complies or intends to comply	Comments
		Exchange Supervisory Authority of the Saxon State (Ministry for Economic Affairs, Labor and Transport)	Yes	
		Ministry of Economic Affairs, Labour and Housing Baden- Wuerttemberg	Yes	
		Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs, Energy and Technology	Yes	
		Exchange Supervisory Authority Berlin (Senate Department for Economics, Energy and Public Enterprises)	Yes	
		BaFin	Yes	
EE	Estonia	Estonian Financial Supervision Authority (FSA)	Yes	
IE	Ireland	Central Bank of Ireland	Yes	
EL	Greece	Hellenic Capital Market Commission (HCMC)	Yes	
ES	Spain	Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores (CNMV)	Yes	
FR	France	Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF)	Yes	
HR	Croatia	Hrvatska agencija za nadzor financijskih usluga (HANFA)	Yes	
IT	Italy	Commissione Nazionale per le Società e la Borsa (CONSOB)	Yes	
CY	Cyprus	Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC)	Yes	



Member State		Competent authority	Complies or intends to comply	Comments
LV	Latvia	Financial and Capital Market Commission (FCMC)	Yes	
LT	Lithuania	Bank of Lithuania	Yes	
LU	Luxembou rg	Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier (CSSF)	Yes	
HU	Hungary	Magyar Nemzeti Bank (MNB)	Yes	
MT	Malta	Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA)	Yes	
NL	Netherlan ds	Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM)	Yes	
АТ	Austria	Financial Market Authority (FMA)	Yes	
PL	Poland	Komisja Nadzoru Finansowego (KNF)	Yes	
PT	Portugal	Comissão do Mercado de Valores Mobiliários (CMVM)	Yes	
RO	Romania	Romanian Financial Supervisory Authority (ASF)	Yes	
SI	Slovenia	Securities Market Agency (SMA)	Yes	
SK	Slovakia	National Bank of Slovakia (NBS)	Yes	
FI	Finland	Finanssivalvonta (FSA)	Yes	
SE	Sweden	Finansinspektionen (FI)	Yes	
IS	Iceland	Central Bank of Iceland	Yes*	
LI	Liechtenst ein	Finanzmarktaufsicht (F MA)	Yes*	
NO	Norway	Finanstilsynet	Yes*	



GB	United Kingdom***	Financial Conduct Authority (FCA)	Yes	
GI	Gibraltar ¹ ***	Financial Services Commission (Gibraltar)	Yes	

*The EEA States other than the Member States of the European Union are not currently required to notify their compliance with the ESMA Guidelines. This table is based on information provided from those EEA States on a voluntary basis. The underlying legislation for these guidelines have not been incorporated into the EEA agreement.

- ** Please note that, in the interest of transparency, if a competent authority continues to intend to comply after the application date, it will be considered "non-compliant" unless (A) the Guidelines relate to a type of institution or instruments which do not currently exist in the jurisdiction concerned; or (B) legislative or regulatory proceedings have been initiated to bring any national measures necessary to comply with the Guidelines in force in the jurisdiction concerned.
- *** The United Kingdom formally left the EU on 31 January 2020, following which the withdrawal agreement entered into force. The withdrawal agreement marked the start of a transition period which lasted until 31 December 2020, whereby the UK was no longer an EU Member State but EU law continued to apply to it. The compliance status recorded in this table for the competent authorities of the United Kingdom and the European territories for whose external relations it is responsible under Article 355(3) TFEU (Gibraltar) therefore reflects their compliance status as at 31 December 2020 and is retained for the purpose of historical information. Please note that, from 1 January 2021, EU law no longer applies to those competent authorities.

Notes

Article 16(3) of the ESMA Regulation requires national competent authorities to inform us whether they comply or intend to comply with each Guideline or recommendation we issue. If a competent authority does not comply or does not intend to comply it must inform us of the reasons. We decide on a case by case basis whether to publish reasons.

ESMA endeavour to ensure the accuracy of this document, however, the information is provided by the competent authorities and, as such, ESMA cannot accept responsibility for its contents or any reliance placed on it.

¹ Gibraltar is a European territory for whose external relations the UK is responsible.



For further information on the current position of any competent authority, please contact that competent authority. Contact details can be obtained from our website (www.esma.europa.eu)