

### SUMMARY OF CONCLUSIONS

### **Board of Supervisors**

**Date:** 3 March 2022 **Time:** 16h30 – 17h30

**Location:** Conference call meeting

Contact: frederiek.vermeulen@esma.europa.eu Tel: +33 1 58 36 43 37

### 1. Adoption of agenda

Decision

**Decision**: The agenda was adopted.

### 2. Confirmation of absence of conflict of interests

Decision

**Decision**: The Board endorsed the ESMA Chair's statement not to have received any indication by a Board Member of any interest which might be considered prejudicial to her/his independence in relation to any items on the agenda.

# 3. Update on risks and developments stemming from current geopolitical tensions

Discussion

The Head of the Risk Analysis and Economics Department, the Chair of the CCP Supervisory Committee, the Executive Director and the ESMA Chair presented an update on risks and developments stemming from the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

The Board discussed the update, in particular the:

- Financial market developments by highlighting the importance of co-operation among national competent authorities;
- Implementation of the restrictive measures against Russian individuals and entities imposed by the European Union (EU) and other jurisdictions, including the role of crypto asset markets in that context; and
- Activities to enhance cybersecurity, including the European Systemic Risk Board's initiatives.

Conclusion: The Board discussed the update.

#### 4. A.O.B.

/



# Participants list Voting members

Member State	Representative	Accompanying Person
Belgium	Jean-Paul Servais	
Bulgaria	Efrosina Nikolova (alternate)	
Czech Republic	Vojtěch Belling	
Denmark	Karen Dortea Abelskov	
Germany	Thorsten Pötzsch	
Estonia	Andre Nõmm	
Ireland	Derville Rowland	
Greece	Vassiliki Lazarakou	
Spain	Rodrigo Buenaventura	
France	Robert Ophèle	
Croatia	Ante Žigman	
Italy	Carlo Comporti (alternate)	
Cyprus	George Theocharides	
Latvia	Girts Ruda (alternate)	



Lithuania	Vaidas Cibas (alternate)	
Luxembourg	Claude Marx	
Hungary	Krisztian Csaky (alternate)	
Malta	Christopher Buttigieg	
Netherlands	Jos Heuvelman (alternate)	
Austria	Eduard Müller	
Poland	Magdalena Łapsa-Parczewska	
Portugal	Tiago Matias (alternate)	
Romania	Gabriel Gradinescu	
Slovenia	Anka Čadež	
Slovakia	Tomáš Ambra (alternate)	
Finland	Anneli Tuominen	
Sweden	Erik Thedéen	
ESMA Chair	Verena Ross	

# Non-voting members

European Commission	Ugo Bassi	
ЕВА	Anne Tiedemann (alternate)	



EIOPA	Petr Jakubik (alternate)	
ESRB	Francesco Mazzaferro	
Iceland	Páll Friðriksson (alternate)	
Liechtenstein	Reto Degen (alternate)	
Norway	Anne Merethe Bellamy	
EFTA Surveillance Authority	Marianne Arvei Moen (alternate)	

### **ESMA**

Executive Director	Natasha Cazenave
Summary of Conclusions	Frederiek Vermeulen
	Laura Weil
Chair of the CCP Supervisory Committeee	Klaus Loeber
Head of the Risk Analysis and Economics Department	Steffen Kern

Done at Paris on 31 March 2022

Verena Ross

Chair

For the Board of Supervisors



### **ANNEX:**

### **OUTCOME OF WRITTEN PROCEDURES**

## Written Procedures (outcomes from 25 February to 2 March 2022)

1. Proposal to confirm the decision to re-introduce the daily reporting to ESMA of Net Short Positions (NSPs)

25 February 2022

1) Proposal

**Decision**: Upon the request of two Members of the Board of Supervisors, the proposal was brought for discussion at the 22-23 March 2022 Board of Supervisors.

2. Joint ESAs Warning on Crypto-Assets

1 March 2022

1) Recommendations

Decision

**Decision**: The Board adopted the Board of Supervisors has approved the Joint ESAs warning on crypto-assets. Gergő Szeniczey (HU) and Robert Ophèle (FR) objected.