

25 September 2020 ESMA22-106-2859

SUMMARY OF CONCLUSIONS

Board of Supervisors

Date:	9 September 2020
Time:	17h00 – 18h00
Location:	Conference call
Contact:	frederiek.vermeulen@esma.europa.eu Tel: +33 1 58 36 43 37

1. Adoption of agenda

Decision: The Board adopted the agenda.

2. Confirmation of absence of conflict of interests

Decision: The Board endorsed the Chair's statement not to have received any indication by a Board Member of any interest which might be considered prejudicial to her/his independence in relation to any items on the agenda.

3. **Oral Report by Chair and Executive Director**

The Chair informed the Board of the fact that the portfolio for financial stability, financial services and Capital Markets Union might be allocated to another Commissioner within the European Commission.

4. Reporting of net short positions - potential renewal of the ESMA Decision under Article 28 SSR

1) Issues Note

The Head of Trading Unit presented the note on the reporting of net short positions.

The Board discussed the way forward, in particular the:

- Financial markets developments and outlook;
- Impact of the measure on financial market participants; and
- Analyses conducted by ESMA and national competent authorities based on the reporting.

Conclusions: The Board instructed ESMA staff to prepare an extension of the Decision for 3 months. Marcus Hein (DE) and Karen Dortea Abelskov (DK) disagreed with that decision. Vojtech Belling (CZ) and Christiana Vovidou (CY) abstained.

5. A.O.B. Decision

Decision

Information

Discussion



/



Participants list

Voting members

Member State	Representative	Accompanying Person
Belgium	Jean-Paul Servais	
Bulgaria	Dimitar Koychev (alternate)	
Czech Republic	Vojtech Belling	
Denmark	Karen Dortea Abelskov	
Germany	Marcus Hein (alternate)	
Estonia	Andre Nomm	
Ireland	Colm Kincaid (alternate)	
Greece	Vassiliki Lazarakou	
Spain	Sebastian Albella	
France	Robert Ophèle	
Croatia	Jurica Jednacak (alternate)	
Italy	Carmine Di Noia (alternate)	
Cyprus	Christiana Vovidou (alternate)	
Latvia	Santa Purgaile	
Lithuania	Vaidas Cibas (alternate)	



Luxembourg	Claude Marx	
Hungary	Krisztián Csáky	
Malta	Lorraine Vella (alternate)	
Netherlands	Jos Heuvelman (alternate)	
Austria	Eduard Müller	
Poland	Joanna Kott (alternate)	
Portugal	Joao Giao (alternate)	
Romania	Florentina Baboc (alternate)	
Slovenia	Sabina Bester (alternate)	
Slovakia	Peter Tkac	
Finland	Anneli Tuominen	
Sweden	Malin Omberg (alternate)	
ESMA Chair	Steven Maijoor	

Non-voting members

European Commission	Ellen Boelema	
ЕВА	Philippe Allard	
EIOPA	Kai Kosik	



ESRB	Francesco Mazzaferro	
Iceland	Páll Friðriksson (alternate)	
Liechtenstein	Reto Degen (alternate)	
Norway	Geir Holen (alternate)	
EFTA Surveillance Authority	Jonina Sigrun Larusdottir (alternate)	

ESMA

Executive Director	Verena Ross
Summary of Conclusions	Frederiek Vermeulen
Head of Trading Unit	Carsten Ostermann

Done at Paris on 25 September 2020

Steven Maijoor

For the Board of Supervisors