



#### SUMMARY OF CONCLUSIONS

### **Board of Supervisors**

 Date:
 10 April 2019

 Time:
 18h00 – 19h00

 Location:
 Conference call

Contact: Joe.heavey@esma.europa.eu Tel: +33 1 58 36 65 03

### 1. Trading obligation for Shares:

STO

Discussion

Draft revised Public Statement on the impact of Brexit on the trading obligation for shares

UK alternative approaches – list of exempted EEA Information ISINs

Letter from the European Commission regarding the Information

The Chair introduced the new proposal by ESMA staff with respect to the application of the share trading obligation, by providing background on the latest developments, including recent discussions with the FCA on possible compromises. Considering the lack of clarity as to what approach the UK would take, as well as a letter received from the European Commission confirming the legality of ESMA's position, the Chair proposed that ESMA unilaterally moves to a 'Pure ISIN' approach. This approach would replace the 'ISIN plus liquidity' approach adopted by ESMA and published in the Public Statement issued on 19 March 2019.

The Board discussed the proposal and draft revised Public Statement, in particular:

- The risk of the UK not adopting a reciprocal approach;
- The need for continued engagement with the FCA on this matter;
- The timing of the publication of the Statement, in particular if either a short or long extension is granted by the European Council for the UK's withdrawal.

**Conclusion:** The Board discussed the proposed revised approach. On the basis of an indicative vote, a majority of the Board supported moving to the 'Pure ISIN' approach. The final sentence in the draft Statement would be slightly amended to indicate that there is still a high-level of uncertainty as to the final timing and conditions of the UK's withdrawal, as well as on the UK's approach to the STO. Finally,



the Chair confirmed that the Statement would only be published in the event of a significant risk of a nodeal Brexit.

# PARTICIPATION LIST – Board of Supervisors – Wednesday 10<sup>th</sup> April 2019 Voting Members

Member State	Representative
Belgium	Jean-Paul Servais
Bulgaria	Vladimir Savov
Czech Republic	Karl Juráš
Denmark	Anne Bruun
Germany	Elisabeth Roegele
Estonia	1
Ireland	Colm Kincaid
Greece	Xenophon Avlonitis
Spain	Sebastian Albella
France	Robert Ophèle
Croatia	Jurica Jednacak
Italy	Carmine Di Noia
Cyprus	1
Latvia	Gunta Razane



Lithuania	/
Luxembourg	Claude Marx
Hungary	Krisztián Csáky
Malta	/
Netherlands	Gerben Everts
Austria	Birgit Puck
Poland	Ilona Pieczyńska-Czerny
Portugal	Gabriela Figueiredo Dias
Romania	Gabriel Grădinescu
Slovenia	/
Slovakia	/
Finland	Eeva Granskog
Sweden	Malin Omberg
United Kingdom	/



## Non-voting members

ESMA Chair	Steven Maijoor
European Commission	Ugo Bassi
ЕВА	/
EIOPA	/
ESRB	/
Iceland	/
Liechtenstein	/
Norway	Anne Merethe Bellamy
EFTA Surveillance Authority	/

## **ESMA**

Executive Director	Verena Ross
Summary of Conclusions	Joe Heavey
Head of Markets	Fabrizio Planta
Head of Trading Unit	Carsten Osterman



Done at Paris on 14 June 2019

Steven Maijoor

For the Board of Supervisors