

# PRESS RELEASE

## ESMA Vice Chair and Management Board Election Results

### Vice Chair Re-elected

The Board of Supervisors of the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) has reelected Carlos Tavares as its Vice Chair. Mr. Tavares, who is Chairman of the Portuguese Comissão Do Mercado De Valores Mobiliários (CMVM), has completed an initial 2<sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> year term and will now serve a further term of 2<sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> years in the position.

### **Management Board Election**

The terms of three members of ESMA's Management Board expired and elections were held by the Board of Supervisors to fill the positions for a term of 2<sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> years. Those elected are:

- Kostas Botopoulos, Hellenic Capital Markets Commission (HCMC), Greece new member;
- Klaus Kumpfmüller, Finanzmarktaufsicht (FMA), Austria new member; and
- Martin Wheatley, Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), United Kingdom –re-elected for a second term.

The outgoing members were Karl-Burkhard Caspari from the Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin) of Germany and Raul Malmstein of Estonia's, Finantsinspektsioon.

The Management Board, chaired by Steven Maijoor, the ESMA Chair, is responsible for ensuring that the Authority carries out its mission and performs the tasks assigned to it under the Regulation. The Management Board now consists of:

- Steven Maijoor, European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA);
- Kostas Botopoulos, Hellenic Capital Markets Commission (HCMC), Greece;
- Klaus Kumpfmüller, Finanzmarktaufsicht (FMA), Austria;
- Jean Guill, Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier (CSSF), Luxembourg;



- Gérard Rameix, Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), France;
- Julie Galbo, Finanstilsynet, Denmark and
- Martin Wheatley, Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), United Kingdom.

#### Notes for editors

- 1. More information and a recent photograph of ESMA's Management Board can be found here: <u>http://www.esma.europa.eu/mb</u>.
- 2. The Board of Supervisors is the main decision-taking body of ESMA, consisting of the heads of the 28 national supervisors chaired by Steven Maijoor, ESMA Chair.
- 3. ESMA is an independent EU Authority that was established on 1 January 2011 and works closely with the other European Supervisory Authorities responsible for banking (EBA), and insurance and occupational pensions (EIOPA), and the European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB).
- 4. ESMA's mission is to enhance the protection of investors and promote stable and wellfunctioning financial markets in the European Union (EU). As an independent institution, ESMA achieves this aim by building a single rule book for EU financial markets and ensuring its consistent application across the EU. ESMA contributes to the regulation of financial services firms with a pan-European reach, either through direct supervision or through the active co-ordination of national supervisory activity.

Further information:

#### David Cliffe

Senior Communications Officer Tel: +33 (0)1 58 36 43 24 Mob: +33 6 42 48 29 06 Email: david.cliffe@esma.europa.eu