

STATEMENT

ESMA appoints new chairs to Standing Committees

The Board of Supervisors of the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) has appointed the following individuals to serve as chairs of its sectoral standing committees:

- Ronald Gerritse, Chairman of the Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets will chair the Committee for Economic and Markets Analysis;
- Gareth Murphy, Director of Markets at the Central Bank of Ireland will chair the Investment Management Standing Committee;
- Gerard Rameix, Chairman of the Autorité des marchés financiers, France, will chair the Corporate Finance Standing Committee; and
- Giuseppe Vegas, Chairman of Commissione Nazionale per le Società e la Borsa (CONSOB), Italy, will chair the Post-Trading Standing Committee.

The following chairs have had their tenures renewed:

- Konstantinos Botopoulos, Chair of the Hellenic Capital Markets Commission (HCMC),
 Greece, as chair ESMA Pol which deals with market integrity issues including short selling and market abuse;
- Jean Guill, Director General of the Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier (CSSF), Luxembourg, as chair of the Review Panel;
- Jean-Paul Servais, Chairman of the Financial Services and Markets Authority (FSMA),
 Belgium, as chair of the Investor Protection and Intermediaries Standing Committee; and
- Martin Wheatley, Managing Director Conduct Business at the Financial Services Authority (FSA), UK, as chair of the Secondary Markets Standing Committee.

The terms of Julie Galbo, Deputy Director General at the Danish Financial Supervisory Authority, who chairs the Corporate Reporting Standing Committee, and Anneli Tuominen, Director General of the Finnish Finanassivallyonta, chairing the Financial Innovation Standing Committee, were not due for renewal at this time.



The standing committees are expert groups drawn from ESMA staff and the national competent authorities for securities markets regulation in the Member States, and are responsible for the development of policy in their respective areas. The appointments are for a period of two years and will commence on 1 January 2013. Further details on the committees' work is available on ESMA's <u>website</u>.